New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry 4 year Renewal Class (4 hour Class)
This is a 4 hour course using NM DPS curriculum and course materials. Students should expect to shoot approximately 100 rounds of ammunition. Students will review New Mexico Department of Public Safety required subject matter to include firearms safety rules, safe storage of handguns and child safety, safe handgun shooting fundamentals, ammunition storage, threat recognition, judgmental shooting, pertinent Federal, state and local criminal and civil laws pertaining to purchase, ownership, transportation, and use and possession of handguns. Also reviewed are techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and how to control a violent confrontation, techniques for nonviolent dispute resolution and knowing when to use deadly physical force.
This course uses the NM DPS curriculum and completion with certificate can be used to renew NM DPS CCW license. Rental guns are available and include 50 rounds of ammunition. Rental Cost is $50 in addition to cost of class.
- Developing a Personal Protection Plan
- Self-Defense Firearm Basics
- Defensive Shooting Fundamentals
- The Legal Use of Force
- Violent Encounters and their Aftermath
- Gear and Gadgets
- Basic And Advanced Skills
- New Mexico Specific Laws
- Handgun Practice And Proficiency
- Handgun Qualification
We spend our day at the range practicing shooting and the safety techniques learned in the classroom.Time: 7:30 am – 1:30 pm
Location: Del Norte Gun Club, 208 Torcido Rd, NW Rio Rancho, NM 87144
"All classes before April 10, 2020 have been cancelled due to government restriction on gatherings and non-availability of classrooms and ranges. We have not cancelled our April 11 and 12 Concealed Carry Class just yet. If anyone signs up for the April Conceal Carry class, understand that we may not be able to teach by then if the government restrictions have not been lifted. We will offer refunds or 100% credit for future classes if we cannot teach this April class. Sorry for any convenience."